Goodreads Facebook Twitter RSS Feed

Help Me Name My Short Story Anthology!

Wednesday, 3 August 2011

So, I need a name for my planned short story anthology. Ten possibilities are listed below. I'd love to know which you like the most. This will be a varied collection of fantasy, SF and mainstream short stories, all previously published in one magazine or another.



Of course, if you don't like any of them, I'd love to know that too ...

22 comments:

  1. I like Dark Side of the Sun (no The) because it covers pretty much every genre. A Parliament of Owls, nice as it is, tells me nothing, and I'd expect it to be a novel in the vein of My Family and Other Animals. I'd stay away from the ones that are too genre-suggestive.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes, definite articles are so passe! Thanks for the input, you make a good point. "Dark Side of the Sun" isn't SFish?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Terry Pratchett wrote a book called The Dark Side of the Sun. I don't know if that matters but it's what I immediately thought of.

    I liked "Perfect Circles". It doesn't commit you to anything and it sounded like it would fit any genre.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I voted for Spellbook!!! Yay!!!!

    Take care
    x

    ReplyDelete
  5. fairyhedgehog,

    So he has! Should have remembered that as I've read all his books. Thanks. Perfect Circles, I can reveal, is in my top 3!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Old Kitty,

    Aha! Thanks - interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  7. "A Parliament of Owls" sounds too Ga'Hoole-ish. "Through a Tarnished Lens" reminds me of "A Scanner Darkly," maybe too much.

    I agree with what fairyhedgehog wrote about "Perfect Circles."

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks 4ndyman - much appreciated!

    ReplyDelete
  9. My second choice was Perfect Circles, so that would be my first now that DSOTS has been eliminated. But I didn't think it sci-fi more than any othe genre.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks, Sue - could be a favourite is emerging!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I went with Dark Side of the Sun (also without the The) because to me, that title could also incorporate some of the more mainstream stories, esp if they have "darker" psychological, emotional, etc. aspects to them.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thanks, Madeline - much appreciated.

    ReplyDelete
  13. you can't go too wrong with any of those

    ReplyDelete
  14. You have a fabulous blog! I want to award you the Brilliant Writer Blog Award for all the hard work you do!

    Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.
    ~Deirdra

    ReplyDelete
  15. Deirda,

    Many thanks! I'll be over to your blog to pick that up.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I voted for 'A Parliament of Owls' because it stands out. (Assuming there's a story within about a parliament of owls). :D

    ReplyDelete
  17. Cate,

    Actually, there isn't! It's a chapter name in a novel but it doesn't really have a bearing on this short story collection - other than sounding good.

    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I liked Climbing Ladders to the Moon, and also Satellite Graveyard.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Deborah,

    Interesting! I'm such a fan of your titles, you know.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I can't decide between two, so I'm voting for both: "A Parliament of Owls" and "Satellite Graveyard" each get my vote!

    ReplyDelete
  21. Thanks Milo - much appreciated.

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to know what you think.